News · Uncategorized

Remote Wipes

I know it is pretty common for bigger companies to have the ability to wipe your phone remotely, even if it’s a bring your own device place.

I recently got hired by a company that acknowledged if we access their server (which would have to do for email), that our phones would then be “hooked” and they would have the ability to remotely wipe our phone if needed. Though they said they have only had to that once when an employee lost their phone.

I’m not too concerned about the phone being wiped, but my main concern was privacy. Does them having this “hook” allow them other access on my phone? To see messages, personal emails, pictures, browser, access to microphone, etc?

I know I’m being a little paranoid, but I almost want to go get another phone just for work purposes. Is there anything to really be worried about?

Thanks

submitted by /u/Chrisd85
[link] [comments]

